2.5 days in Istanbul – Days 1 & 2

I’ve left this a little late but considering the title of the previous post, I thought it necessitated a follow up…

Obviously Istanbul (& then Dalyan & then the return to real life) were far too much fun, so I conveniently forgot to continue on from where I left off…but I have now discovered I can write blogs offline and then upload that should solve some of my problems – and entertain me during morning commutes 😉

Our time in the ‘bul seemed to flash by in a awe inspiring mirage of beautiful porcelain tiles, rooftop views of mosques, the routine calls to prayer and the sights and sounds of an incredibly interesting city perched between Europe and Asia…basically I loved it. The food, the buildings, the history, the art, the smells and the culture – oh and did I mention the baklava?! To. Die. For.

So here’s a taster of the things we did (& yes I’ve made myself limit it to one photo per place or I would post hundreds and hundreds!)

Galata Tower

image

Beautiful views over the Bosphurus,  & you don’t even have to climb the stairs – there’s a lift!

Tolpaki Palace

image

Beautiful tiles everywhere! The circumcision room had the prettiest (weirdly…).

Blue Mosque

image

Some people pray, some people play.

Haga Sofia

image

Just continually had my mind blown away with the beautiful architecture,  and the Haga Sofia has this HUGE open dome with no supporting pillars (unlike the Blue Mosque) which makes it all the more impressive. 

Boat cruise on the Bosphurus

image

After haggling him down to €5 per person we enjoyed a sunset cruise along the Bosphurus. Amazing to see the changing colours of the city, day to night,  Europe to Asia.

Grand Bazaar

image

A bit touristy but definitely worth it to stock up on Hamaan towels and pretty bowls. Stick to your guns when haggling! You will get the price you want eventually!

Basically, a picture says a 1000 words:

image

Leave a comment